What do I need to obtain a Marriage License in South Carolina?

Instructions for Obtaining a Marriage License for a Marriage
in South Carolina

  1. Complete the attached application for marriage at least (2) two months prior to the wedding and mail to Horry County Probate Court, P.O. Box 288, Conway, SC 29528. This is the main office and applications are entered faster when you mail it to this office.  If it is more convenient any Probate Court in South Carolina can issue a marriage license for a marriage in Myrtle Beach, SC. The license must be picked up by the bride and groom at the same Probate Court in the same County in South Carolina in which the application was made. The marriage license will be given to the officiant prior to the ceremony for signing and he/she will file it with the Probate Court after the ceremony.
  2. After the application has been properly completed, both applicants (bride and groom) must sign the Application in the presence of a Notary Public.  Attach a copy of your social security cards and a copy of your driver’s license to the signed application.
  3. Return the Application to the Horry County Probate Court, along with a money order or cashier’s check payable to the “Horry County Probate Court” or the county in South Carolina you are applying.  The fee in Horry County for the marriage license is as follows:  All Horry County residents: $50, All State residents: $75, Out of state and others: $100. Please be advised that no personal check will be accepted.
  4. South Carolina law requires a (24) twenty-four hour waiting period before the issuance of a marriage license.  No blood tests are required. Upon the Court’s receipt of an application by mail, the court will review the Application and all accompanying documentation for compliance with the necessary requirements for issuance of a license.  The (24) hour waiting period will not commence until the application is entered into the Court’s computerized system. All Applications received by mail that have been properly submitted with all necessary documentation and the appropriate fee will be entered into the Court’s computerized marriage license system on the business day following the Court’s receipt of the Application.  The twenty-four hour waiting period will not commence until the Application is entered into the Court’s computerized system. You (Bride & Groom) must personally pick up the license in the same county which you submitted the application, and give the license to the officiant prior to the marriage.
  5. In 1966, South Carolina enacted legislation prohibiting marriages between persons of the same sex on the basis that such marriages are against public policy of this state.  Therefore, when an application for a marriage license is submitted, both applicants (bride and groom) must personally appear in the Probate Court to pick up the marriage license.
  6. Please include your telephone number when you return your Application so that if there are any problems with your application, you can be contacted by phone.  In the event that you have any questions, please contact the Probate Court at

(843) 915-5370.

 In addition to the above requirement, the following requirements should be carefully noted and adhered to when applicable:

AGE REQUIREMENTS:  Both applicants must be at least (16) years of age for the issuance of a marriage license.  Parental consent is necessary for any applicant under eighteen (18) years of age.  The only exception to the age and consent requirements is if the female applicant is pregnant, in which event special instructions should be obtained from the Probate Court prior to submitting an Application by mail.

PARENTAL CONSENT:  Any applicant under the age of eighteen (18) years of age must include written parental consent to the marriage by at least one (1) of the minor applicant’s parents or legal guardians.  A consent form is located at the bottom of the enclosed application and must be signed by the parent or other legal guardian in the presence of a Notary Public.  No consent is necessary for an applicant over eighteen (18) years of age.

PROOF OF AGE:   

Applicant under Eighteen (18) Years of Age:  In addition to the Application for Marriage, any applicant under eighteen (18) years of age must file with the Court one (1) of the following documents as evidence of the applicant’s age:

(1)  A certified copy of the applicant’s birth certificate; or

(2) A hospital or baptismal certificate that has been issued and dated within (1) year after the applicant’s birth.

If an original birth, baptismal or hospital certificate is presented to the Court, a copy will be made for the Court’s records and the original returned to the applicant.  Please include a self-addressed, stamped envelope with your application for the return of the original document by the Court.  Certified copies of birth certificates will not be returned to the applicant.  The court will not accept birth records with erasures or alterations as proof of age.

Applicant Over Eighteen (18) years of Age but less than Twenty-Five (25) Years of Age:

In addition to the Application of Marriage, any applicant over eighteen (18) years of age but less than twenty-five(25) years of age must file with the Court a copy of one (1) of the following documents as evidence of the applicant’s age:

(1) Driver’s license;

(2) Military identification card

(3)  Selective service identification card

(4)  Passport or Visa

(5)  Certified copy of birth certificate

No proof of age is required of an applicant twenty-five (25) years of age or over.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:

Each applicant must include his or her social security number on the Application. An applicant who is a resident alien may use his or her alien identification number (Green Card identification number) in lieu of a social security number.

VERY IMPORTANT: 

In addition, each applicant must submit a copy of their social security card or, if applicable, their alien identification card with their application.  We cannot process your application for marriage license without this information.

The Horry County Probate Court is open for business Monday through Friday from 8 AM to 5 PM.  Due to time constraints, please arrive at the Court no later than 4 PM to pick up your marriage license.  They are closed for lunch from 12:30-1:30 PM.

The Probate Court is located in the Horry County Government and Justice Center, 1301 2nd Ave. or use P.O. Box 288 ( for mailing purposes), Conway, SC, 29528.

The Probate court has two (2) satellite offices;

one is located at 107 Hwy 57 North, Box 8, Little River, SC, 29566 (closest to North Myrtle Beach) and the other is located in the

Surfside Beach area (closest to South beach area) at  9630 Scipio Lane, Suite F, Myrtle Beach, SC 29588.

You may pick up your license at any one of the Probate Court offices.  The satellite offices are closed daily from 12:30 to 1:30 PM for lunch depending on business levels  and at 4:00 PM each day.  They are not open on the Saturday and Sunday.

Please mail your completed application and money order or cashier’s check in with the appropriate amount, along with all necessary documents concerning proof of age, parental consent and social security number (or alien identification number) to the following address:

Horry County Probate Court

P.O. Box 288

Conway, SC  29528

Please include your telephone number when you return your Application so that if there are any problems with your application, they can contact you by phone.

Call the Probate Court to make sure they received your application and everything is in order at least (2) weeks after you mail it.